International Ice Hockey Federation

U.S. roster final

U.S. roster final

Team USA opens against Canada

Published 23.12.2015 12:43 GMT+2 | Author USA Hockey
U.S. roster final
Sonny Milano and Brandon Carlo are among the potential returnees for Team USA at the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship. Photo: Richard Wolowicz / HHOF-IIHF Images
USA Hockey announced the final 22-player roster for the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship.

“We're looking forward to getting the tournament underway," said Jim Johannson, general manager of the 2016 U.S. National Junior Team and also the assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey. “Because of the depth we have now, getting to a final roster is always difficult. We're excited about the team we'll put on the ice in Finland and believe in every one of these individuals to not only play the style our coaching staff expects but to also represent our nation proudly."

The final roster, which can be found here, features two goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards. Of the 22 players named to the roster, 15 have previously represented the United States, including seven who skated for the 2015 U.S. National Junior Team last year. Additionally, 10 members of the squad have earned a gold medal as a member of the U.S. Men's National Under-18 Team.

Defenceman Zach Werenski (University of Michigan) is the captain of the 2016 U.S. National Junior Team, with defenceman Louie Belpedio (Miami University) and forwards Auston Matthews (ZSC Lions Zurich) and Colin White (Hanover, Mass./Boston College) serving as alternate captains.

Team USA will begin play in the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship Saturday (Dec. 26) against Canada. The game can be seen live on the NHL Network within the United States same as all other Team USA games.

The team will conclude its training camp in Vierumaki, Finland, on Dec. 24 before traveling to Helsinki.

Team USA Roster (as of 23 Dec.)

Brandon Halverson, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
Alex Nedeljkovic, Flint Firebirds (OHL)

Louie Belpedio, Miami University (NCHC)
Will Borgen, St. Cloud State University (NCHC)
Brandon Carlo, Ti-City Americans (WHL)
Brandon Fortunato, Boston University (HEA)
Chad Krys, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)
Charlie McAvoy, Boston University (HEA)
Zach Werenski, University of Michigan (Big Ten)

Anders Bjork, University of Notre Dame (HEA)
Brock Boeser, University of North Dakota (NCHC)
Alex DeBrincat, Erie Otters (OHL)
Ryan Donato, Harvard University (ECAC Hockey)
Christian Dvorak, London Knights (OHL)
Scott Eansor, Seattle Thunderbirds (WHL)
Ryan Hitchcock, Yale University (ECAC Hockey)
Auston Matthews, ZSC Lions Zurich (SUI)
Ryan MacInnis, Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
Sonny Milano, Lake Erie Monsters (AHL)
Nick Schmaltz, University of North Dakota (NCHC)
Matthew Tkachuk, London Knights (OHL)
Colin White, Boston College (HEA)

Head Coach:
Ron Wilson


Back to Overview