International Ice Hockey Federation

Groups for Helsinki 2016

Groups for Helsinki 2016

Host Finland to face silver medallist Russia

Published 06.01.2015 06:22 GMT+2 | Author Martin Merk
Groups for Helsinki 2016
International ice hockey comes back to Hartwall Arena, which most recently hosted the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championships in 2012 and 2013. Photo: Jeff Vinnick / HHOF-IIHF Images
With the conclusion of the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship, the groups for the 2016 World Juniors in Helsinki are now known.

Host Finland will face silver medallist Russia, bronze medal winner Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Belarus in Group B at Hartwall Arena.

The 13,665-seat venue, which co-hosted games of the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in 2012 and 2013 and is the home arena of Jokerit Helsinki, will be the main venue. It also hosted the World Championship in 1997 and 2003 and the World Junior Championship in 1998.

Group A will include defending champion Canada, Sweden, the United States, Denmark and Switzerland. The venue for the group, Helsinki Ice Hall, is the home of IFK Helsinki with a capacity of 8,200 fans. This traditional ice rink has hosted the World Juniors four times before, in 1980, 1985, 1990 and 2004, as well as the World Championship in 1974, 1982 and 1991.

The 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship will be played from 25th December 2015 to 5th January 2016 at the two biggest ice rinks in the Finnish capital, and the short distances will make it possible to attend games in both arenas on the same day.

Finland was the long-time record holder for the most-attended World Junior Championship held in Europe, with 139,680 spectators in Helsinki and Hameenlinna in 1998. Malmo, Sweden, broke that record last year with 144,268 spectators.

Ticket sales for the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship are expected to start in spring 2015.

The event website is already available and can be accessed in English and Finnish.

Groups 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship

Group A Group B
Canada Russia
Sweden Slovakia
USA Czech Republic
Denmark Finland
Switzerland Belarus


Back to Overview