International Ice Hockey Federation

Canada sets roster

Canada sets roster

23 players named to final team for Helsinki

Published 21.12.2015 13:13 GMT+2 | Author Hockey Canada
Canada sets roster
Last year’s participants Jake Virtanen (#18), Lawson Crouse (#28) and Joe Hicketts (#2) are eligible to play at the IIHF World Junior Championship again this winter. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
The roster is set; 23 players have earned their place on Canada’s National Junior Team at the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship in Helsinki, Finland.

Hockey Canada confirmed the final roster shortly after returning to Helsinki from Imatra, Finland, on Sunday evening. The team spent six days in Imatra and played pre-competition games against Belarus on Saturday, and the Czech Republic on Sunday, before narrowing down to the final roster.

Defencemen Noah Juulsen and Jeremy Lauzon, and forwards Jayce Hawryluk and Nick Merkley did not make the final roster.

“Our goal is always to assemble the best possible team to represent Canada. We had a really good evaluation period in Toronto and Imatra, and were able to see how the players responded to different situations – from practices to games,” said Scott Salmond, vice-president of hockey operations and national teams for Hockey Canada.

“These are never easy decisions, but we feel confident in the team we have and their ability to make the nation proud and give us all something to get behind this holiday season.”

Four players from the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship-winning team are included on the roster: Lawson Crouse (Kingston, OHL), Joe Hicketts (Victoria, WHL), Brayden Point (Moose Jaw, WHL), and Jake Virtanen (Vancouver, NHL).

Canada won gold at the IIHF World Junior Championship on home ice in January. The team has not won in Europe since 2008 – the fourth of five consecutive gold medals for Canada’s National Junior Team from 2005-09.

Roster Team Canada (as of 20 Dec.)

Mackenzie Blackwood, Barrie (OHL)
Mason McDonald, Charlottetown (QMJHL)
Samuel Montembeault, Blainville-Boisbriand (QMJHL)

Thomas Chabot, Saint John (QMJHL)
Travis Dermott, Erie (OHL)
Haydn Fleury, Red Deer (WHL)
Joe Hicketts, Victoria (WHL)
Brandon Hickey, Boston University (HE)
Roland McKeown, Kingston (OHL)
Travis Sanheim, Calgary (WHL)

Mathew Barzal, Seattle (WHL)
Anthony Beauvillier, Shawinigan (QMJHL)
Rourke Chartier, Kelowna (WHL)
Lawson Crouse, Kingston (OHL)
Julien Gauthier, Val-d’Or (QMJHL)
Travis Konecny, Ottawa (OHL)
Mitchell Marner, London (OHL)
Brendan Perlini, Niagara (OHL)
Brayden Point, Moose Jaw (WHL)
John Quenneville, Brandon (WHL)
Mitchell Stephens, Saginaw (OHL)
Dylan Strome, Erie (OHL)
Jake Virtanen, Vancouver (NHL)

Head Coach:
Dave Lowry


Back to Overview