International Ice Hockey Federation

Almost there

Almost there

U.S. roster trimmed to 24

Published 19.12.2015 17:58 GMT+2 | Author USA Hockey
Almost there
Sonny Milano and Brandon Carlo are among the potential returnees for Team USA at the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship. Photo: Richard Wolowicz / HHOF-IIHF Images
The roster for the 2016 U.S. National Junior Team has been trimmed to 24 players.

Team USA will travel to Finland tomorrow and continue its training camp in Vierumaki, Finland, 20-24 December. The U.S. will face Finland in an exhibition game on 22 December at Isku Arena in Lahti, Finland.

"Head coach Ron Wilson has brought a high level of intensity to camp and as a staff we have been very pleased with the attitude shown by the players," said Jim Johannson, general manager of the 2016 U.S. National Junior Team and also the assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey.

"As our players keep melding together our staff will continue evaluating which players fit best into the framework and style of play our coaching staff expects us to have for this tournament."

The 27-player U.S. preliminary roster was trimmed with forward Kieffer Bellows (U.S. National Under-18 Team), defenceman Casey Fitzgerald (Boston College); and goaltender Tyler Parsons (London Knights) being released. Luke Opilka (Kitchener Rangers) was unable to join the U.S. National Junior Team due to illness.

USA Hockey will announce the final roster for the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship in Helsinki by 24 December.

At the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship, the U.S. will compete in a group with Canada, Denmark, Switzerland and Sweden. All U.S. games will be broadcast live on NHL Network in the United States.

Team USA camp roster (as of 19 Dec.)

Brandon Halverson, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
Alex Nedeljkovic, Flint Firebirds (OHL)

Louie Belpedio, Miami University (NCHC)
Will Borgen, St. Cloud State University (NCHC)
Brandon Carlo, Ti-City Americans (WHL)
Ryan Collins, University of Minnesota (Big Ten)
Brandon Fortunato, Boston University (HEA)
Chad Krys, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)
Charlie McAvoy, Boston University (HEA)
Zach Werenski, University of Michigan (Big Ten)

Anders Bjork, University of Notre Dame (HEA)
Brock Boeser, University of North Dakota (NCHC)
Alex DeBrincat, Erie Otters (OHL)
Ryan Donato, Harvard University (ECAC Hockey)
Christian Dvorak, London Knights (OHL)
Scott Eansor, Seattle Thunderbirds (WHL)
Ryan Hitchcock, Yale University (ECAC Hockey)
Clayton Keller, U.S. National Under-18 Team (USHL)
Auston Matthews, ZSC Lions Zurich (SUI)
Ryan MacInnis, Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
Sonny Milano, Lake Erie Monsters (AHL)
Nick Schmaltz, University of North Dakota (NCHC)
Matthew Tkachuk, London Knights (OHL)
Colin White, Boston College (HEA)

Head Coach:
Ron Wilson


Back to Overview